44: Success

by sallyirene

Scanned Image 24(photo taken by and developed by me, scanned in to computer)

When I thought about the directive “Success” and the Barbie brand I really think about how much it affects girls and what they feel is successful when looked at through the perspective of society. To be successful you think you have to look a certain way and make a certain amount of money and have the perfect man or any of these things that people believe they need to have achieved expectations. But all of these things are a part of growing as a person, becoming an adult and becoming who you truly are. I decided to take a literal route when I got this far in to thought and took a photo with my 35mm camera of the roots of a plant growing in the water. I developed the film and then the photograph in a darkroom.