37: Sheep

by sallyirene

“It’s better to be a lion for a day than a sheep all your life.”

This directive really made me think about if I am a sheep in my own life. I think I try not to be someone who just follows everyone else but sometimes it happens anyways. I often wonder about how much of the stuff I’m doing is actually holding me back from being the best version of myself. The concept of “herd mentality” describes how people are influenced by their peers to adopt certain behaviors or to follow trends or to purchase particular items maybe. That is kind of what advertising is all about but I guess it does not have to be that way. Sometimes you can sell a really good idea that people can benefit from, not everything is about a certain material item that you’ve just got to have. The Barbie brand enforces the herd mentality from my perspective. So yeah, some of the dolls have a few other ethnicities than just stark white with blonde hair but then what? They’re still shaped like an anorexic runway model which is completely unachievable in life. But so many of us try to achieve it anyway even though it can affect our lives so negatively. I really like the idea of advertising for something really good that changes at least one person for the better in the process of maybe selling something else. I don’t want to just fall in to cookie cutter state of mind. I don’t want to just sell things solely to make money just like I don’t want to buy something solely to follow the trend and look like everyone else.

